Four Oaks - For Kids Community, and You
for help or information


Skip Navigation LinksHome > What We Do > Programs > Community and School Based Programs

Community and School Based Programs

After-School Program
(Cedar Rapids, Iowa City)
Four Oaks After-School programming is for children ages 6-13 with behavioral and emotional problems. The program is available after school and on weekdays when school is not in session. In addition, there is a full-day summer program.

Autism Spectrum Program
(Cedar Rapids)
The Four Oaks Autism Spectrum Program is designed to serve middle school children and high school youth ages 11-18 who have been diagnosed as having an Autism Spectrum Disorder: Severity Level 1 ("Requiring Support"). This program incorporates a variety of treatment options specially designed for each child in an accommodating setting, away from school. The goal is to have a significant and positive impact on the quality of each child's life by teaching self-advocacy, communication skills, social skills and anxiety management. 

After-School Program 
(Mason City)
The Four Oaks After-School program serves children grades kindergarten through 8th with mental health, behavioral, emotional, and psychological needs. The program is a joint partnership between the local school district, families, and Four Oaks.

Behavioral Health Services
Behavioral Health Services is a skill-building service that is designed to address behaviors and symptoms associated with the child’s mental health diagnosis. The Clinician works with the child and family to improve anger management, behaviors, peer/family relationships, communication, problem-solving, social skills and conflict resolution.  

Family Foster Care
(Appanoose, Benton, Davis, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Mahaska, Monroe, Wapello, Washington, and Van Buren counties; Des Moines; Dubuque)
As a member agency of Iowa KidsNet, Four Oaks provides the Family Foster Care program for children ages 0-18 and their families while children are temporarily placed in family foster care. Services include recruitment, retention, foster parent licensing, and on-going and crisis support to foster families.

Functional Family Therapy
(Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, Waterloo)
Juvenile Court Services Officers in the First, Second, and Sixth Judicial Districts may make referrals to Four Oaks Functional Family Therapy. Functional Family Therapy is an evidence-based family intervention program that reduces the possibility of re-offending.

Iowa Aftercare Program
(Polk, Dubuque, Johnson, Black Hawk, Allamakee, Clayton, and Winneshiek counties)
The Four Oaks Aftercare program Self Sufficiency Advocates work foster care alumni ages 18 – 21 move toward stability and self-sufficiency in six key areas: education, employment, housing, health, life skills, and relationships.  Participants meet at least twice monthly with a Self-Sufficiency Advocate (SSA), who partners with youth to help them address barriers and develop skills to achieve their individual goals. In addition, needs-based financial support is available to youth who qualify for the Preparation for Adult Living (PAL) program.  
Aftercare Services may be contacted several months prior to a young person’s planned exit from the foster care system. Aftercare SSAs are available to attend Family Team Decision-Making meetings, transition meetings, or other events related to a young person’s transition from care. Involvement prior to discharge helps SSAs build a relationship with eligible youth and facilitates a connection to Aftercare services.

Four Oaks participates as a member of Iowa Aftercare Services Network and provides services in 16 counties in eastern and central Iowa. 

Pediatric Integrated Health Program 
(Linn, Benton and Buchanan counties) 
As part of Iowa’s Children’s Mental Health design, and in alignment with President Obama’s Health Care Reform, the state has contracted with Magellan Behavioral Care of Iowa to pilot Integrated Health Homes in five counties. Linn County is one of those in the pilot, and Four Oaks will be one of two agencies in the county running this new program. The program provides a hybrid of case management, and systems of care approach to help parents navigate the child mental health system. Learn more...

PHASE Supervised Community Treatment 
(Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Waterloo) 
The Four Oaks PHASE Supervised Community Treatment is a delinquency specific program. PHASE programming incorporates state-of-the-art, evidence-based interventions for juvenile offenders. Participating youth are allowed to stay connected to their community, schools, and families, and graduate from PHASE with reduced risk to reoffend. 
Partners United for Supportive Housing in Cedar Rapids (PUSH-CR)
(Cedar Rapids) 
Partners United for Supportive Housing-Cedar Rapids (PUSH-CR) is Iowa's first supportive housing program designed specifically for very low income families who are homeless or near homeless, involved with the child welfare system, and dealing with complex needs or disabilities (such as domestic violence, mental health and substance abuse problems) that threaten child and family safety, permanency, and well-being.

Four Oaks is the managing partner for the PUSH-CR collaborative that includes Four Oaks, Department of Human Services, Affordable Housing Network, Inc., University of Iowa, Waypoint, Foundation 2, Abbe Center for Community Mental Health, Area Substance Abuse Council, Partnership for Safe Families, Horizons, Hawkeye Area Community Action Agency, Linn County & Continuum of Care, City of Cedar Rapids – Housing, Linn County Public Health, Cedar Rapids Community Schools, Juvenile Courts, Kirkwood Community College, United Way of East Central Iowa, Greater Cedar Rapids Community Foundation, Diversity Focus, Iowa Children’s Justice, Casey Family Programs, and the National Center on Family Homelessness. Learn more...

Outpatient Behavioral Health Services/Abbe Oaks
(Cedar Rapids, Des Moines, Dubuque, Iowa City, Waterloo)
Four Oaks Outpatient Behavioral Health Services provide outpatient individual, family, and group psychotherapy to children and their families who are eligible under Title 19 or private insurance. In Cedar Rapids these services are provided as Abbe Oaks in partnership with the Community Mental Health Center.

Safety and Permanency Services 
(Grinnell, Linn, Ottumwa, Johnson, Benton, Jones, and Iowa counties)
Four Oaks Safety and Permanency Services are available to families involved with child abuse assessments and/or an open DHS case.

School-Based Programming
(Ankeny, Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Marhsalltown, West Des Moines)
Four Oaks has collaborated with local school districts across the state of Iowa to create unique and innovative school-based programs to meet the needs of at-risk students. Currently there are several supervised suspension and detention centers, conduct disorder and specific intervention/disciplineclassrooms and special education staff in-service training.

Special Needs Adoption
(Appanoose, Benton, Davis, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Linn, Mahaska, Monroe, Wapello, Washington, and Van Buren counties; Des Moines; Dubuque)
As a member agency of Iowa KidsNet, Four Oaks provides Special Needs Adoption services including recruitment, retention, adoption home approval, and on-going and crisis support to adoptive/permanent families of special needs children.
Share with DiggShare with del.icio.usShare with FacebookShare with StumbleUponShare with reddit
Design Element
© 2016 Four Oaks. Accredited by COA. A Web Application by Informatics, Inc, PLATINUM2012 8.3